Skip to main content

You are here

Winners of the 2011 Edition

The winners of the 2011 edition of the ‘Anna LindhMediterranean Journalist Award’ were presented today by Prince Albert II and the International Award Jury at a ceremony taking place in the Principality of Monaco and bringing together media and civil society from across the two shores of the Mediterranean region.

Among the prize-receivers, Asmaa El Ghoul – Palestinian blogger and writer from Gaza - was awarded commitment to freedom of expression and her courage in facing repression, while Mohamed El-Dahshan – Egyptian writer who was at the forefront of the Egyptian revolution-was awarded for his exceptional writings on social change in Egypt published in many international publications, and which made the voice of young Egyptian activists heard all over the world.

The official winners of the Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award 2011 are:

  • Honorary Awards for Mohamed El Dahshan (Egypt) and Asmaa El Ghoul (Palestine)
  • Special Award on Democracy and Social Change: Iason Athanasiadis (Greece) for his series of articles "Revolution: Game Over?" published in El Majalla and Abdel Aziz Hali (Tunisia) for his series of articles "Once upon a time, there was two revolutions" published in La Presse
  • Press Category: Rachel Shabi (UK) for her article "We were looking for a nice, peaceful place near Jerusalem" published in The Guardian , and Mekioussa Chekir (Algeria) for her article "Tolerance and religious unanimity" published in La Tribune.
  • Television Category: Nada Abdel Salam (Lebanon) for her documentary "The Jews of Lebanon" broadcasted on BBC Arabic
  • Radio Category: Andrei Popov, Ileana Taroi and Valentina Dumitrescu (Romania) for their co-production "When Romeo meetsJulieta" on Société Roumaine de Radiodiffusion.

The Award Jury, which is chaired this year by renowned sociologist Edgar Morin and presided by André Azoulay, President of the AnnaLindh Foundation, comprised Giselle Khoury (Al Arabiya Television), Naglaa El Emary (BBC), Alessandra Paradisi (COPEAM Audiovisual Network), Maria Barradas (Euronews) and Donatella della Ratta (Common Creatives).