Skip to main content

You are here

Winners of the Anna Lindh Journalist Award announced

France’s Jean Daniel and Egypt’s Mona El Tahawy receive the Mediterranean’s leading prize for reporting across cultures

Winners of the Anna Lindh Journalist Award 2010 are announced in Monaco by the International Jury headed by Edgar Morin

Monaco, 14 October 2010:The winners of the 2010 edition of the ‘Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award’ were presented today by Prince Albert II and the International Award Jury at a ceremony taking place in the Principality of Monaco and bringing together media and civil society from across the two shores of the Mediterranean region.

Among the prize-receivers, Jean Daniel – French writer, journalist and founder of ‘Le Nouvel Observateur’ - was awarded a special prize for his life-long work for a common Mediterranean region, while Mona El Tahawy – Egyptian-born columnist and opinion-leader at the international level – received a prize for outstanding professional contribution.

The Award Jury, which is chaired this year by renowned sociologist Edgar Morin and presided by André Azoulay, President of the Anna Lindh Foundation, was comprised by Abdel-Rahman Al-Rashed (General Manager of Al Arabiya Television), David Gardner (Foreign Affairs Editor for the Financial Times), Hala Hashish (Head of the Nile Television Network), Juan Luis Cebrian (Founder of El Pais), Alessandra Paradisi (Secretary General of COPEAM Audiovisual Network), and Rana Sabbagh (Executive Director of the Arab Reporters Investigative Journalism).

The official winners of the Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award 2010 are:

· The International Jury’s Life-time Achievement Prize for Jean-Daniel (France) and the Professional Recognition Prize for Mona El Tahawy (Egypt)

· Press Category: Sarfraz Manzoor (UK) for ‘My Month of Being Jewish’ published in The Guardian

· Audiovisual Category: Pierre Mari (France) for ‘Female Emigration’ on Radio Kantara, and Ali Gohine (Egypt) for ‘Illegal Migration’ on Nile Television Network

· Online Media: Dalia Ziada (Egypt) for ‘Unveiling the minds of Young Muslim Women’ in Bikya Masr

· Cultural Heritage: Yizhar Beer (Israel) for ‘The city and the dogs’ in the Huffington Post

The Anna Lindh Journalist Award is the Mediterranean region’s leading prize for reporting across cultures and on issues of cultural diversity.

For further information on the Award, log on to:

For editors

The Anna Lindh Foundation is an organisation shared and resourced by the forty-three countries of the Union for the Mediterranean with the mandate to bring people together for dialogue between cultures.  With its headquarters in Alexandria, the Anna Lindh Foundation runs a EuroMed network  of over 3000 civil society organisations with the aim of facilitating their collaborations and common actions.


For media enquiries please contact:

Paul Walton: