Skip to main content

You are here

Winners of the 2012 Edition

The winners of the 2012 edition of the ‘Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award’ were presented by the International Award Jury at a ceremony taking place at the Allianz Cultural Foundation’s headquarters (Allianz Forum, Pariser Platz, Berlin) and brought together media and civil society representatives from across the two shores of the Mediterranean region.

Among the prize-receivers, Rima Marrouch – Syrian war reporter from Homs - was awarded for her commitment to freedom of expression and her courage in covering the grievances in Syria.

The official winners of the Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award 2012 are:

  • Special Award 2012: Rima Marrouch, Syrian journalist for her work. This is an example:
  • Press Category : Mona Abouissa from Egypt for ''Les Choristes d'Allah'' in Le Monde Diplomatique. A Special Mention was attributed for Witold Szablowski from Poland for ''Let Us In, You Bastards!'' in Gazeta Wyborcza.
  • New Media: Haggai Matar from Israel for ''The Wall: 10 Years On'' in and Sophie Chamas from Lebanon for ''Ani Mi Levanon: Smiling Through Hebrew Class" in
  • Radio Category: Sakr Al Makhadhi from UK for ''Understanding Syria" in BBC Radio 2
  • TV Category: Jaume Bartroli, Ramon Valles, and Silvia Paoro from Spain for ''Where Are You From?'' in Televisio De Catalunya 3.A Special Mention was attributed for Karim El Shenaoui from Egypt for‘’Salafi’’ on BBC Arabic.
  • Special Category ‘’The Role of Citizens and Civil Society in Building Democracies and Pluralistic Societies’’: Francesca Caferri from Italy for ''The Paradise at Women's Feet'' in La Repubblica and Mondadori.

The Award Jury, which is chaired this year by renowned sociologist Edgar Morin and presided by André Azoulay, President of the AnnaLindh Foundation, comprised Giselle Khoury (Al Arabiya Television), Naglaa El Emary (BBC), Alessandra Paradisi (COPEAM Audiovisual Network), Michael Muenz (Deutsche Welle), Michael Thoss (Allianz Cultural Foundation) and Robert Parsons (France 24).