Celebrating 10 years of Anna Lindh Foundation Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube channel Join us on Flickr

Get Involved

This leading regional Award aims at rewarding exceptional journalistic productions, contributing to a better understanding of the diversity of cultures in the Euro-Mediterranean region as well as promoting the positive role played by journalists in providing balanced and informed coverage on cultural issues in the region.

Submitted work should tackle intercultural issues between and within Euro-Mediterranean societies, ranging from diversity, tolerance, freedom of expression, fighting xenophobia, extremism and terrorism.

The Ninth edition of the Anna Lindh Mediterranean Journalist Award 2015 will be launched for the following four categories:

1. Press Category:

All articles published in printed newspapers/magazines/periodicals. Articles must be written in a journalistic style. Academic papers will not be accepted.
The article must not exceed 20,000 characters.

2. Online Media Category:

All written or audio-visual materials published via the Internet, particularly material created by journalists.
Blogs, social media platforms and other emerging forms of online communication are acknowledged as part of the online media landscape and online journalism to the extent that the content is produced in a journalistic style.

3. Audiovisual Category:

Radio/TV Entries which can include interviews, reportage, documentaries, panel discussions, news stories or reports published on the radio and/or TV.
Entries duration must not exceed 1 hour.

4. Photography Category:

Photographs published online and/or printed media by for professional or non-professional photographers.

In addition, a Special Recognition award will be bestowed this year by the ALF Secretariat to outstanding media contribution to reporting on “rising xenophobia and radicalization” in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

Works could have been published in printed / online media, or broadcasted on radio or television between the 1st of July 2014 and 1st September 2015.

The competition is open to journalists who are nationals of one of the 42 countries of the Union for the Mediterranean, in addition to Libya and Syria. Priority will be given to young journalists.

Candidates can only compete in one category.

To get involved in the Anna Lindh’s Mediterranean Journalist Award 2015, you can submit a journalistic item related to one of the four categories before the 1 September 2015 by clicking here.